Oneota Community Co-op Minutes of the 2022 Annual Meeting of the Members/Ownership April 20, 2023

6:00 p.m.

Pulpit Rock Brewing Company, Decorah

Board Members Present: Brennen Allsworth (new board member), Hannah Breckbill, Aaron

Detter, Scott Hawthorn (outgoing), Bill Iverson, Scott Timm, Bailey Lutz

Board Members Absent: Detra Dettmann

Co-op Staff: Nate Furler

Member/Owners Present: 16 (excluding staff and board)

Welcome and Call to Order

Timm called the meeting to order at 6:09 p.m.

Approval of the 2021 Annual Meeting Minutes

A motion to approve the 2021 Annual Meeting minutes was made by Lyle Otte, seconded by Lyle Luzum, and passed unanimously.

Review of Oneota Co-op Mission and Ends Statements

General Manager Nate Furler read through the Co-op mission and ends statements.

2022 Year Review, Financial Recap, and Store Update

Furler gave a presentation on the state of the co-op, noting the co-op's stable financial position and notable challenges and achievements of 2022. Furler then gave an overview of the store's leadership team.

Board President Report

Board President Scott Timm provided an overview of the Co-op Board of Directors' work over the past year. He recognized and commended General Manager Nate Furler for his handling of a difficult past couple of years, coming out of the Covid-19 pandemic, dealing with staff shortages, building maintenance, and more. He noted that Furler's report speaks to all the great work he and the leadership team have done in 2022.

Timm then initiated introductions of the Board members and each member present introduced themselves and talked about their background and passions and interests in terms of their work on the Board.

Board Election Results

Board Vice President and outgoing board member Scott Hawthorn reviewed the results of the board election, where five candidates ran for two openings. He noted that the election results were certified April 3, 2023. 1,148 votes were cast in the 2023 election, representing 17.7% of the electorate. He announced that incumbent board member Hannah Breckbill had received the highest vote count at 470, followed by Jack Knight at 235. After the election results were

certified, Knight resigned, and Board Members unanimously voted to appoint the third highest vote-getter, Brennen Allsworth, per the Board's bylaws, at a special meeting held virtually on April 13th.

Member Lyle Luzum noted that he was impressed with the slate of candidates, with consensus expressed by other members present.

Old Business

No old business was discussed.

New Business

Timm discussed the topic of board compensation and related Board bylaws and noted that he would be forming an ad hoc committee consisting of both Board members and co-op members to make recommendations and avoid any conflict of interest.

Member Peter van der Linden expressed a desire for better communication from the General Manager and Board of Directors toward the broader membership, noting a sense of feeling out of the loop, especially since the printed Scoop was discontinued, to which Furler and Timm responded with openness and constructive ideas.

Members expressed their love and appreciation of the Luna Valley Farm events of the past year and a desire for more in the future.

Member Steve McCarger raised concerns for the future in the event that UNFI were acquired by an entity hostile to the co-op model and natural, organic foods. McCarger, Furler, and Timm discussed these possibilities and potential ways that the Co-op would respond.

Adjournment

A motion to adjourn was made by member Peter van der Linden, seconded by Arllys Adelmann, and passed unanimously. The meeting was adjourned at 7:27 p.m.